Public reps reject Local Government Act 2019: Legislation termed violation of Constitution imposed by Bani Gala

The leaders of various political parties have rejected the Local Government Act 2019 and termed it a conspiracy against the integrity of Pakistan.

Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) leaders Inayatullah Khan and Sahibzada Tariqullah, Awami National Party (ANP)’s Khushdil Khan, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazal (JUI-F)’s MPA Shahdad Khan, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP)’s lawmaker Nighat Orakzai, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)’s Israrullah and Qaumi Watan Party (QWP)’s Sikandar Sherpao attended the event.

LCA President Himayatullah Mayar accused the KP government of rendering the devolution meaningless with the Local Government Act 2019.

He said Pakistan had a bad history of the local governments, claiming that every elected government conspired against devolution of powers at the grassroots.

“The PTI has reversed whatever powers had been devolved. Now districts will not have a representative forum,” he said, adding the colonial-era powers of the deputy commissioners have been restored.

Continue Reading on


There are no comments yet

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *